Adventures in Austin | Book Edition

As my time in Austin comes to an end I have been trying more and more to adventure into the best museums, bookstores and restaurants that Austin has to offer.  This city is built of amazing hole in the wall places so I will not have a shortage of places to explore before my time here is up.  Recently my roommate and I discovered that the museum on the university campus, the Harry Ransom Center, had an Alice in Wonderland exhibit going on.  Since I find that Alice in Wonderland is one of my favorite nonsensical classics I was really excited to go see this exhibit.

For those of you who are unaware of what Alice in Wonderland is about, its a classic that focuses on the adventures of a little girl named Alice through a land that’s not really real called Wonderland.  She follows a peculiar rabbit, meets several incredible creatures like an opiate smoking caterpillar, a cat with a cheshire grin and twins who are definitely very strange named Tweedle Dee and Tweedle Dum.  While this book’s plot is rather not there, it has been the basis for many movies, cartoons and even some “spin-off” books like Jabberwocky, a book of nonsense.

The exhibit at the Harry Ransom Center did an incredible job of detailing the history of Alice in Wonderland through some original art, 150 years of Alice covers and some truly incredible art pieces by artists like Salvador Dali. I did get a chance to vlog the experience, with permission of the museum of course, for your viewing pleasure as well.  I didn’t vlog the entire experience because then there would be no point in going but I got enough to show some of the awesome pieces that were curated for the exhibit. So sit back and enjoy! My roommate Olivia also vlogged the adventure so feel free to check out her video as well.

Leave a Reply

