BOOK REVIEW | Shatter Me

71GXQFa+RRL

Rating: 4/5 stars

Find the Book!

Amazon | Barnes and Noble | Goodreads

Connect with the Author!

Twitter | Official Website

Summary from Barnes and Noble:

“You can’t touch me,” I whisper.

I’m lying, is what I don’t tell him.

He can touch me, is what I’ll never tell him.

But things happen when people touch me.

Strange things.

Bad things.

No one knows why Juliette’s touch is fatal, but The Reestablishment has plans for her. Plans to use her as a weapon.

But Juliette has plans of her own.

After a lifetime without freedom, she’s finally discovering a strength to fight back for the very first time—and to find a future with the one boy she thought she’d lost forever.

Review:

This is actually the second time I have read this book.  The first time I read it I don’t think I found anything especially memorable about the plot or the characters.  However this time around I found myself getting much more into the characters, the world and the plot throughout the book.

This book focuses on a girl named Juliette, who for whatever reason can kill people with her touch.  I found the idea of Juliette’s “powers” was an interesting component in this book.  Especially in a dystopian world where being around large amounts of other human beings can be rare.  The society is falling apart and many people have died, so to have someone who can kill another human accidentally just by touching them is intriguing and something that many people seek throughout the book.  The other portion of Juliette’s character that I found interesting was the distinct idea that while she felt helpless, when the situation called on it she was able to protect herself without relying too much on the people around her.  I enjoyed the idea that the author allowed Juliette to be confused and dazed but at the same time created a character that was willing and able to take care of herself and fight back when she needed to.

The other thing, in terms of characters, that I liked about this book was the fact that the romance between Adam and Juliette wasn’t center stage.  Granted it wasn’t particularly hidden in the plot but compared to some teen and YA novels where the romance takes center stage (Twilight I’m looking at you) this book created an environment where the actual problems were very apparent and a much more pressing concern than if Adam and Juliette would get together and live happily ever after.

I believe that the only main problem I had with this book was the fact that the ending just seemed to fall off for me.  After all of the build up from the second half of the book, the ending just seemed to plop into place rather than leave me on the edge of my seat or making me feel the need to run to the nearest bookstore and demand a copy of Unravel Me to help ease the burning desire to find out what happens next.  I wasn’t disappointed in the ending, I just wanted more.

Overall I have to say that I was extremely happy I re-read this book.  I’m not sure why I don’t remember much of reading it the first time around but this time it was definitely a worth while read.  While I won’t be rushing to the bookstore to pick up the next two books in the trilogy I will definitely be reading them and finishing the series sometime in the near future!

One thought on “BOOK REVIEW | Shatter Me

Leave a Reply

