BOOK REVIEW | Etta and Otto and Russell and James

21412221

**I received this book from Simon and Schuster as an ARC copy through NetGalley**

Goodreads Review: 4/5 stars

Keep an eye out for this book in January of 2015!

A gorgeous literary debut about an elderly woman’s last great adventure walking across Canada. A beautiful novel of pilgrimage, of fulfilling lifelong promises, of a talking coyote called James, of unlikely heroes and hundreds of papier-mâché animals…

I will admit that when I first started reading this book I wasn’t necessarily drawn to the writing style of it.  I love extremely descriptive writing, something the engulfs me and makes me a part of the world that I’m reading about.  However the more I read of “Etta and Otto and Russell and James” the more I found myself falling in love with Emma Hooper’s writing style.  The time period and the age/experiences of the characters falls on the reader to figure out slightly.  The author mentions things that occurred during WWII and the Great Depression but doesn’t outright say that this is when this event or that event occurred.  I enjoyed that some of the storytelling was based on the assumption that the reader had a basic knowledge of the time line of American and world wide events.

This book is about rediscovery and the fact that even at the ripe old age of 82 there are still things worth discovering in the world.  This book might not have been one that I would have picked up on my own but I’m very pleased I got the opportunity to read it.  I’m very excited to get my hands on a finished copy of the book when it is officially released!

Leave a Reply

