Top 5 Childhood Series

This weeks Thursday blog is going to a topic that is close to my heart!  Mostly because these books are books that were some of my favorites in middle school and in someway shape or form got me into reading certain genres.  These books are in no particular order, they are just 5 of my favorite “childhood” books!  What are some books from your childhood that are your favorites or were influential to what you read today?

1. The Harry Potter Series by J.K. Rowling

3

Now this book series is definitely something that was a part of many a childhood.  It was a series that focused on the life of an orphaned boy who through no fault of his own is thrust into a world of magic, adventure and danger.  He develops friendships, makes enemies, learns about life and death and teaches some extremely valuable lessons to those reading.  When I was a kid reading these books I loved them mostly because when my reading level advanced so did the reading level of the books.  These books grew with me and Harry in some way went through some of the same growing pains I did.  I will always be waiting for my letter to Hogwarts!

 

2. The Lord of the Rings Trilogy by J.R.R Tolkien

33

Now when many people look at this book series they might say that it is a bit advanced for a middle school age child.  To be fair this series was one that I started in late 8th grade and finished in my high school years.  However it was still a part of my childhood through the movies AND the books.  This was a book series that really got me into the realm of Epic Fantasy.  Fantasy books were something that I read as a child by never really dove into.  I was much more of a contemporary lover.  But these books forced me into the Shire and held me hostage until I admitted that I fell in love with the setting and the characters in this series.

 

3. The Thoroughbred Series by Joanna Campbell

1035285

As a child (and an adult) who was and still is obsessed with horses this book series really sparked my interest.  I was convinced when I was younger that I would grow up and work with horses for the rest of my life so these books were like my dreams on paper.  These books aren’t anything fancy.  They document the life of a girl who grew up at a racing stable and saved a horse named Wonder.  She goes on to struggle through normal, everyday middle school/teenage problems as well as race horses.  You know. The normal.

 

4. The Septimus Heap Series by Angie Sage

769483

Now I’m going to be honest here, I have only read the first 4 books in this series.  This is mainly due to the fact that I didn’t pick this series up till around 8th grade and once I started getting into them I also realized that I enjoyed reading YA books more than Middle Grade books.  Now with that being said I really enjoyed the first 4 books in this series and have been considering picking them back up now that I have a tolerance for middle grade books as an adult.  I thought that the world was really well built in these books and the introduction to fantasy that these books bring is amazing.

5. The Chronicles of Narnia by C.S. Lewis

317500

As a girl whose mom is a second grade teacher in a Lutheran school, I was very well versed in the Chronicles of Narnia books.  Now normally after hearing your mother read these books multiple times to her class most kids would have been sick of them.  However I really enjoyed the world of Narnia.  I loved the environment and the characters that C.S. Lewis built and opened up to the readers.  Once again this was a book series that got me away from contemporary and into the world of fantasy.

Leave a Reply

