BOOK REVIEW: Fangirl

16068905

 

Goodreads Review: 5/5 stars

Fangirl focuses on an introverted girl who is stuck in the world of Simon Snow, being a twin and not wanting to get to far away from the things that she is familiar with. Cather Avery is in many ways the stereotypical introverted college freshman, and I related to her character very much!

This book, while being a light contemporary novel brings to light some heavier issues like abandonment, mental health problems (bipolar disorder) and alcohol abuse. Somehow amongst all of the crazy issues that this bring into Cath and Wren’s life, Rainbow Rowell is still able to keep the reader engaged and smiling as the characters grow and learn.

I found little pieces of myself in Cath as she experienced many problems that I experienced my freshman year of college. The character was so related able that I found myself cheering for her, rooting for her to succeed and being sad for her when failure hit. She brings out the idea that even though you may be painfully socially awkward, you can still be an amazing person with so much joy and life to give to those around you.

Also, can we just talk about Levi for a second?  Bless you Rainbow Rowell for introducing a male character that wasn’t interested in being a love interest immediately.  Instead he was interested in who the people around him actually were and making an effort to make them see their full potential.  I enjoyed the fact that she contrasted the character of Levi with Nick, someone who starts off seeming similar to Levi (kind of not really) but who ends up being the complete opposite.  (SPOILERS, sorry not sorry).  I wish everyone had a Levi in their life.

I applaud Rainbow Rowell for this book and honestly cannot fit all of my thoughts into this one review. I will definitely be doing a video review for this for a more expansive review (or rave) about the book.

3 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: Fangirl

  1. This was one of the best books I read in 2014; I reviewed it on my blog as well. I just discovered Rainbow Rowell and have read everything but Landline, which is on the to-read list 🙂 Thank you for your review!
    PS: I just joined Goodreads and found you there 🙂

Leave a Reply

