BOOK REVIEW: The Ballad of a Small Player

18166987

 

Goodreads Review: 3.5/5 stars

I received this book as part of the Blogging for Books program.

I must admit that when I first requested this book I was a bit nervous about it and wasn’t really sure what to expect with it since this was my first dip into Osborne’s writing.  However this author definitely threw me a pleasant surprise.  I found myself getting pulled into the world and into the characters.  The description behind the world that was presented to the reader in the book helped make the reader feel as though they were a part of the world and knew where things belonged inside of the location.  The setting was definitely something that won me over for this book.
The only issue I found myself having with this book is that sometimes the main character seemed a little bland.  I found that there were times in the book when the main character pulled me in and made me feel excited about the story but there were definitely times where that just didn’t happen.  Occasionally the character felt very flat and boring compared to some of the others in the book.
Overall though I was very pleased with this book and would definitely consider looking into more books by Lawrence Osborne.

Leave a Reply

