BOOK REVIEW | The Commons: Book 1: The Journeyman

download

Goodreads Review : 5/5 stars

Find it on: Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes and Noble

I received this book to review for Rock the Book.

This book is the first installment in The Commons series. As an urban fantasy series this book established a world that most who were reading could relate to, at least at the beginning that is. I really enjoyed the fact that when the reader first starts this book it isn’t set in a fantastical world. It’s set in America (technically). And when you first start it it definitely doesn’t seem like fantasy.  Instead of being in a world with magic or strange creatures, the reader is put into a world of everyday life.  Nothing out of the ordinary (or so it seems). The author establishes a place that readers find familiar before throwing in all of the amazing fantasy elements and I for one appreciated that. The author’s creativity makes each one of the characters come alive and thrive before your eyes. I could feel myself connecting on some level with each of the characters and that made this book so much more enthralling. I will say I was a bit nervous about this book as some of the urban fantasy I’ve been reading lately hasn’t been up my alley, but I’m extremely glad I picked this one up! From the second I started it I was hooked.  I am definitely looking forward to more from this author.

Leave a Reply

