THURSDAY QUOTABLES: Ask The Passengers

Thursday Quotables is a weekly book blog meme that is hosted by Bookshelf Fantasies and deals with quotes and passages from whatever book you are currently reading!

So this week (or at least today) I am reading Ask the Passengers by A.S. King.  I don’t really know how to describe how I feel about this book other than to flail about a bit and be in complete and utter awe of it.  I picked it up after watching Ariel Bisset rave about A.S. King in videos on her channel and I was not disappointed.  I will be posting my review of it later this week hopefully!

And the first quote from this book is my personal favorite:

“Is it okay to lie in order to be happy?”

This quote is from Astrid as she is sitting in her backyard contemplating her life and who she is and what she wants in a relationship and/or what is acceptable to want in a relationship.  For me this quote hit home and made me think of decision I’ve made in the past and whether or not it truly is acceptable to lie in order to be happy.  Whether you are lying to yourself or to those around you. Sound off below on your thoughts dealing with this quote!

The second quote and last quote that I will be using from this book is from a couple pages down and is another one that really struck me (keep in mind that I am not terribly far into this book yet):

“As I slwly walk down the aisle, I want to ask for their help. How do I forgive myself? I have an imaginary conversation with them, and then they tell me: Just do it.

This quote occurs almost directly after the previous one and it is from the perspective of the person on the plane.  I love the fact that the conversation of Astrid and the people 30 thousand feet above her mirror themselves and answer each other.  It is by far one of my favorite aspects of this book.

Now you all get to participate!  Sound off below about some of the quotes from what you are currently reading that made you think, or laugh, or just struck you as something you wanted to share! And don’t forget to check out Bookshelf Fantasies blog for more cool blog memes!

5 thoughts on “THURSDAY QUOTABLES: Ask The Passengers

    • It’s never to late to check out posts and such! 🙂 Thank you! If you haven’t read Ask the Passengers I highly recommend it! 🙂 The book you used sounds really intriguing I might just have to pick it up!

Leave a Reply

